Because of the multitude of polyhedral dice in existence, one player or another is sure to bring to the table something unusual. Here are some simple guidelines that will hopefully curtail debates. All dice must have easily read pips or numbers on their faces. If a player wants to use something that doesn’t have numbers, western-style Hindu-Arabic numerals, he must receive the permission of his opponent. Dice that use symbols for three or more of their representative numbers are not allowed. The lowest number on a dice must always be one and the numbers should advance by one each facet. Very small ships, d1s, cannot deployed. While d2s are discouraged they can be deployed with your opponent’s permission. Coins are not allowed as two sided dice.
Dice may also contain a range of numbers that are not representative of their number of facets. Common instances are the d6 that counts 1-3 twice or the d20 with the ten single numerals on it. If a player wants to use such a die he must present it to his opponent and receive permission. From that point on the die is considered to have facets equal to its number range for all purposes. Dice that have a number of facets not specified in the ship description are not that ship design. The die must contain numbers with an equal distribution. For example, a d12 that counts 1-6 and 2-7 is illegal.
Check for #
Certain cards will have ships test to engage a stated effect. A ship must roll the check # or less to receive noted outcome.
EX: Time Warp, Target one ship in your Graveyard, check for 2: return ship to your stockpile. When you pay for this event you choose any ship in your Graveyard and roll the die. If it comes up one or two the ship is removed from the Graveyard and moved to the Stockpile.
The Resource and Hand
A player may discard a card from their Hand they must pay one Construction Point during the Build Phase. The card is then moved to the discard pile and the top card of the Resource replaces it. This can be done any number of times at the cost of 1 CP each time. Encounters cannot be discarded in this fashion. Encounters must be defeated, see Encounters.
As cards are moved out of a player’s Hand through game play they are immediately replaced by the top card of the Resource. Events that have been resolved moved to the discard pile at the end of the player’s turn, see Events. If the Resource is empty the player cannot draw more cards and must finish the game with the cards in play.
By expending ten Construction Points a player may replace any sector where they have presence with a sector card from their Hand. Space sectors may be altered with the terraforming process far easier than established systems and thus require only five CPs to complete the terraforming process. Under no circumstance may a Homeworld ever be terraformed. Cards that are terraformed are discarded to the discard pile of the player to whom they belong.
Terraforming always targets a sector in Nearspace. Thus discarding a card from your hand might limit your choices but not the terraforming process. Should a player ever fail to maintain constant presence in a sector then the terraforming effort is lost and the CP invested is removed. Even if the presence is restored by the end of the turn leaving such delicate cosmic manipulations for a moment is folly. You can use a counter or a die placed to the side of the target sector to denote how much CP is banked into the terraforming effort.
If no sector card is available in a player’s Hand then the top of the Resource is revealed and put into play. If it is not a sector or encounter card it is placed at the bottom Resource and the next card is revealed. This continues until a sector or encounter card is revealed. When an encounter is revealed all ships with presence must face the threat. An opponent may request you shuffle your Resource after this process.
If a player terraforms a sector and there are no longer any sector cards in his Hand or Resource, his opponent may replace the terraformed card from in a similar manner. Should neither player have an appropriate sector card then the area will be considered a space sector. Leave the area blank or replace with an appropriate space sector card.
Artifice represents the slow and methodical applications of resources in your empire into a specific goal. Artifice is represented by a d# which is the value that must be invested into the project before the effect occurs. Unlike other aspects of building, the CP used in artifice is an independent pool. The CP value of a Homeworld is the amount of CP you have to spend on artifice projects. This does not lower or deplete the CP value of your Homeworld. You can spend the artifice CP on any number of projects investing in them over time, see Banking. Under no circumstances can artifice CP be used for any other CP use.
EX: Facing an Unstable Hydrology Crisis a player must reach an Artifice d12 to discard the crisis. A Terran player, having 5 CP on the Homeworld, would require three build turns to resolve this crisis and would have three Artifice CP to spend in another Artifice if one were available. Remember that the 5 CP from their Homeworld is still available each turn to spend as normal.
It is possible to spend CP on a single project over multiple turns. Ships can be built slowly with a small investment each turn. The ship under construction is kept in the shipyard and is placed so that the number of CP invested in it can be read. Engine Dice are built in the same manner but must be kept separate. Other projects that can be banked include terraforming and heroes. While these projects are under construction a die is placed nearby so that the number of CP invested in them can be read. Though using a different “system” artifice amounts can also be banked. Under no circumstances can Events or Directives ever be banked. They are all or nothing purchases of CP.
Once points are invested in a project they cannot be removed.
4. Engine Dice
If a player cannot utilize the entire generated E it is simply dissipated by the start of the next turn. Engine dice and the E they generate cannot be saved from one turn to the next. An exception to this rule is a player may choose to keep an entire engine die intact. The E it generates is simply not figured and the die is set aside. During the next turn the die is not rolled again but it is available to be utilized. An engine die may be preserved in this way indefinitely if it is not disrupted by card effect.
EX: A player is planning a huge offensive with battleships at the core of his fleet. On his engine dice he rolls 2, 4, 6, 6, 19, and 20. He chooses to keep the 19 and 20 and proceeds to utilize the other 18 E. Next turn he rolls only the four dice used. He then has the new roll (8, 12, 12, 13) and a 19 and 20 for E.
The gravitonic forces manipulated by the engine dice can also be used to overcharge the Faster Than Light system. After a player generates E they may choose to re-roll one engine dice but must remove one rolled dice from their pool this turn. This may be done more than once if necessary.
EX: A player is planning a huge offensive with battleships at the core of his fleet and cannot afford the delay preserving an engine dice would entail. On his engine dice he rolls 2, 4, 6, 6, 19, and 20. He chooses to discard the 2 and the 4 and re-roll the two sixes. His re-rolls are 11 and 14. With the 19 and 20 he now has 64 E. Next turn, if there is one, he rolls all 6 dice for E.